Thursday, 28 July 2016

The Ramon Magsaysay Award for 2016

  • Two Indians, human right activist Bezwada Wilson & Classical musician TM Krishna have won The Ramon Magsaysay Award for 2016
  • Mr. Krishna will receive the award for "social inclusiveness in culture," while Wilson was named as an awardee for "asserting the inalienable right to a life of human dignity."
  • The Ramon Magsaysay Award is an annual award established to perpetuate former Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay's example of integrity in governance, courageous service to the people, and pragmatic idealism within a democratic society. [1][2] The prize was established in April 1957 by the trustees of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund based in New York City with the concurrence of the Philippine government.
  • The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation gives the prize to Asian individuals achieving excellence in their respective fields. The awards were given in six categories, five of which were discontinued in 2009:
    • Government Service (1958–2008)
    • Public Service (1958–2008)
    • Community Leadership (1958–2008)
    • Journalism, Literature, and Creative Communication Arts (1958–2008)
    • Peace and International Understanding (1958–2008)
    • Emergent Leadership (2001– )
    • Uncategorized (2009– )

No comments :

Post a Comment